Passover is an eight-day Jewish festival. Modern-day Jewish families eat unleavened matzo bread during Passover to honor this part of their history.
What is in a traditional Seder meal? 
Clockwise from left:
•Maror: Bitter herbs, symbolizing the bitter harshness of slavery, are eaten twice, once by themselves and a second time, seen at left, with matzah, seen at right.
•Karpas: A vegetable other than bitter herbs, often celery, is dipped in salt water, representing tears.
•Chazeres: The bitter herb eaten first, typically romaine lettuce.
•Z’roa: A roasted bone, symbolizing a sacrifice. Not eaten.
•Beitzah: A roasted hard-boiled egg, representing a sacrifice and a symbol of mourning.
•Charoses: The bitter herbs are dipped into charoses (a mixture of grated apples, nuts or other fruit, spices and red wine), which has the appearance of mortar to symbolize the lot of the Hebrew slaves whose lives were embittered by hard labor with bricks and mortar.
At right:
•Matzah: Three matzos, or squares of unleavened bread.